Old Schwamb Mill
Upcoming Events








About the Mill

Open Tuesdays and Saturdays 11am-3pm for guided tours of the Mill, including frame-turning demonstrations on original 19th century lathes, art gallery viewing, and sale of our finely crafted frames. Groups by appointment. The time for a Saturday tour will be adjusted when necessary to avoid disruption of scheduled special events.

OSM turner David Graf giving a frame-turning demonstration. Other steps in the manufacture of an oval frame will also be demonstrated during each tour. Photo by Ed Friedman enfenf002@yahoo.com

The Mill, one of Arlington's hidden historic gems, is an 1864 picture frame factory and living history museum. It is the country's only manufacturer of hand-turned museum quality oval frames. The Mill is a worthy destination in its own right, with its rich industrial history, its bucolic setting on Mill Brook and, in particular, its original and still-used 19th-century machinery.

Donations welcome.


Visit the Shaker Workshops in the mill's barn and take advantage of the 10% discount that OSM members receive. From 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Saturday, furniture, lamps, rugs, and many seasonal and unique gift items are available.

For more information, please call:
Ed Gordon, Director of Museum Programs, at 781-643-0554
or send e-mail to info@oldschwambmill.org.

DIRECTIONS to the Old Schwamb Mill




Tuesdays and Saturdays, through June 3, 2017, 11 am to 3 pm 
CURRENT EXHIBIT: Outakes: The Photographs of Mark Ostow 

Current art exhibition, “Outtakes: The Photographs of Mark Ostow.” Mark is a portrait photographer based in Cambridge. Known for capturing the indecisive moment, his portraiture captures emotion in progress.

Saturday, May 20, 2017, 2 pm
TALK: “The Role of the Small Museum in Massachusetts Communities” with speaker William Hosley.

At this event, we'll experience an illustrated talk on the Commonwealth's smaller, lesser known and most unusual local museums. With more than 30 years' experience in museums and historic preservation, William Hosley has worked with Historic Deerfield, the Winterthur Museum, the Wadsworth Atheneum, and, most recently, Connecticut Landmarks and the New Haven Museum, where he served as executive director. This event is part of annual “Hidden Treasures Month” sponsored by the Freedom's Way Heritage Association in partnership with the National Park Service.

Saturday, Jun 3, 2017, 2 pm
TALK: “Arlingtion's 'Sister Mill Town' in France” with speaker Richard Duffy.

Local historian and OSM Advisory Board Member Richard Duffy will present a lively talk illustrated with both historical and modern images, showing the several parallels between Arlington's geographic arrangement of various watermills and that of one of the most beautiful villages of northern France. Enjoy a virtual trip to a surprise destination!

3-5 pm
Closing Reception for "Outtakes: The Photographs of Mark Ostow."

Saturday, June 24, 2017, 1 pm

Schwamb Mill Director and engineer Robert Tanner will explain two 19th-century power systems at the Mill: the water turbine and the steam engine. While the engine is gone, the boiler remains, and the water turbine and governor can also be viewed up close. Featured will be the 1872 high pressure boiler in the Dry House, site of early 1870s steam engine in the Mill’s late 18th century barn, and the Mill building’s water turbine installed in 1888.

3-5 pm
Opening Reception for "PERSPECTIVES: NINE PHOTOGRAPHERS’ VIEWS OF INDUSTRY AND ARCHITECTURE" featuring the work of members of the Greater Lynn Photographic Society.

The Greater Lynn Photographic Association is a group of photo-hobbyists dedicated to "teaching the craft of the camera and exploring the art of photography." Members are a group of serious photographers ranging from young adults to retirees and from total beginners to a Pulitzer Prize–winning professional.